The Prince of Wales Inn, formerly known as Ty Newydd Tavern, can be found on the outskirts of the small Welsh village of Kenfig in Bridgend. A warm and friendly community on the edge of the sand dunes, just one mile inland on the north bank of the Bristol Channel, and south-west of the M4 motorway. The pub is nestled in the surrounding countryside, overlooking the idyllic Kenfig National Nature Reserve.The inn dates back to the 15th century. Our upstairs function room- the Old Town Hall- has been a hub for the local community and popular meeting place for well over 600 years. It has been used as the borough's guild hall, court room, market, coroner's inquest room, dance festival venue, Sunday school room, and even as a mortuary for shipwrecked mariners. Thanks to its varied history this heritage pub is unsurprisingly thought to be one of the most haunted pubs in Wales.The inn boasts four quirky, characterful rooms: The Lounge, the dog friendly Snug, the Restaurant and the Old Town Hall. The medieval-style Old Town hall is available for hire for all kinds of private functions, including weddings, christenings, funeral wakes, birthday celebrations or business meetings.We believe in sourcing our produce locally where possible and supporting local farmers and businesses. We source all our milk from the Ty Tanglwst Dairy in Pyle, free range eggs from the Cyw Hapus Eggs in Heol-y Cyw, Bridgend. landlord David Stone is the 12th landlord of this historical freehouse since 1816. Our pub is open 7 days a week and we serve homemade food, freshly prepared on the premises, including real chips, pies and rustic pizzas, with a good selection of vegetarian and vegan dishes.
We are famed for traditional Welsh dishes, including Welsh brunch, laverbread,Penclawdd cockles and faggots.Pizzas as well as fish and chips are available to take away.We stock a good selection of real ales,ciders, spirits, wines and soft drinks.Our Sunday lunch is very popular, so booking is advisable to avoid disappointment.