The Frank McCourt Museum
The Frank McCourt Museum is situated in Hartstonge Street, Limerick, Ireland. Founded and run by Una Heaton, the building housed the old Leamys School, which was attended by Frank McCourt and mentioned several times in his memoir Angela's Ashes.
The central area of the museum is a faithful re-creation of the former classroom of the 1930's, with authentic desks and wall hangings. Visitors can imagine the young Frank and his friends sitting at these desks as the teacher 'beat the education into them'.
Two rooms have been turned into a museum by Una and are a re-creation of the McCourts home in Roden Lane. Visitors can see first hand the living conditions expierienced by the McCourts and the other familes who lived in the Lanes of Limerick.
The museum is open daily. Groups by appointment.